FreakoutITGeek's Blog

Random IT postings from Freakz

Hacking scorch active X installer

I don’t tend to put how-to stuff on my blog as it’s not really what I intended it for. As I will probably need this in the future and it may help out other IT support people, I’ve made an exception.

My Issue was that the Music department in the High School I work in requested Sibelius Scorch installed on their Windows XP PCs. This should be an easy task but Sibelius/Avid only provide the software as an Active X plugin for Internet Explorer or an .exe installer for Firefox, Oprah, Netscape etc.

Since the staff and pupils are blocked from installing plugins, or any other software, (for security reasons) I needed to find an installer that would install Scorch that I could then distribute to the PCs using Altiris.

After a lot of searching I was no further forward.. So the only option was to start hacking..

I downloaded the Active X .cab file from Sibelius.com and saved it to the desktop of my test Windows XP computer. Once on the PC I extracted the files and was left with a setup.inf and setup.exe files. The setup.inf file is read by windows and starts the setup.exe file.

So I manually ran the setup.exe file and ,due to the restrictions in place on my test PC (proxy settings), the setup.exe failed and gave an error message with a details button. Clicking the details button brought up a URL of where the setup.exe file was attempting to downloading a Microsoft installer file from. (The URL is also recorded in a log file under the profile of the account being used)

With this Info I could just browse to the URL and download the MSI file and use this to deploy the software to the PCs required (after testing).

Hope this info is of use to others in the same situation 🙂

2 responses to “Hacking scorch active X installer

  1. website blog September 6, 2014 at 19:37

    Hello would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must
    say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a
    good web hosting provider at a honest price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

